It’s Been Awhile


It’s been tough to write lately. Things are going well with Garrick gone. He was home in November on his RnR and it was so amazing to see him. The girls were so happy to have him home and so sad to see him leave again. I think Cameron took it the hardest, I know she doesn’t understand things like Brooklyn is able to. We just stayed home for the most part. Garrick had only see the house before we closed so he finally got to experience living in our new house. We had fun shopping in Minneapolis when he flew in and let the kids go to SeaLife at the Mall of America. Then on the day he flew out we did the rides at Mall of America. The kids had been asking for months and I had kept telling them that we’d do it when daddy was home. We all had a lot of fun and even Nora got to ride her first ride.

  

Nora's first ride

It seems like time as flown by since he’s gone back. Can’t believe it’s already been over a month since he was here. I hate wishing for time to fly by but it only means we’re closer to the next time we see him. We already know that we’ll see him agin in February. Things have been busy with the girls’ birthday’s in November. Birthday week went well and we now have a 4yr old, and 7yr old. And I am now 27. Another day closer to 30. haha We also had my sister’s, my mom’s and my sister in law’s birthdays during that week.   Christmas will be here in less than 2 weeks. The girls are getting excited but I am finding it hard to get into the Christmas spirit. It’s a lot to do with the fact that we don’t have any snow here in Northern Minnesota.  We’ve gotten the tree up and decorated, and the stockings hung up on the mantle. But it’s just not the same. I think Garrick being away has a lot to do with it too. This will be the first Christmas we’ve been apart. I sent him a little tree for his room. I hope they stay busy over there and do something special for Christmas. I’m sure January will go by slow. It always seems to be a slow month just from all the craziness that goes on in December.

We’re not exactly sure where we’re going to meet up with Garrick but we’re thinking somewhere warm by the beach. Mexico is on the list or visiting a friend in Costa Rica.  I still need to go in and talk with a travel agent. We’re open to anywhere really and flexible as long as we find an affordable destination. I’m just excited to go on a vacation. We’ve been back in Minnesota for a year now and I haven’t left yet. We drove across the bridge to Superior Wisconsin but I don’t count that, since we didn’t even get out of the car. We were spoiled with all the traveling we were able to do in Germany and I’ve been frustrated lately with staying in one spot for this long of a time. It’s just not like me to sit still. So, I’m really looking forward to this getaway.

On another note, my friend brittany is doing a challenge of blogging everyday for a year. She hasn’t missed a day and has been doing the challenge for a few months now. I am thinking about doing the same thing. Just intimidated by the challenge. We’ll see. It would be nice to keep up with things on here. I just don’t want to make it overwhelming and then not do it at all. And things are busy here, so I don’t really need another thing to keep up with.. But It would be nice.. So I’ll definitely give it some thought. And maybe even plan out a week of post ahead of time to give me a head start.

One thought on “It’s Been Awhile

  1. Thanks for sharing this heartfelt post, now that you moved I miss getting to see you on Sundays… Maybe we can make some time to get together sometime. Hope your all doing well!

Leave a Reply

